Spending Time in the Chair

Chair

Writing is not the typical career for a lot of people. Most everyone thinks that they can write a novel or a short story, however when you dig down into what makes those books on the shelves that we all love great, it’s a very complicated process. At least that is something that I have found out over my few years of trying to put something on the page.

I didn’t spend much time in an English class that focused on the grammatical aspects of writing. Most of the English I had in high school and college was of the literature variety. Reading is a great past time, don’t get me wrong, but it isn’t the only source for figuring out what you need to make a story work. I’ve spent the last few years following blogs of authors that seem to know what’s going on. I’ve gotten a few craft books to try and help me figure out this whole writing thing because being published is probably the biggest dream that I have.

However there is a little thing that I have seen every author talk about that is probably the hardest part of them all and the sad thing is that it is really the easiest part. Putting your butt in the chair and actually writing. Pretty easy concept or so it would seem. However, it isn’t as easy as it sounds.

This is probably my biggest falter on the path of getting published. I haven’t spent the time in the chair. After working a full time job and then doing all the things that we do at home, I find myself not spending anytime writing. And I know that there is definitely time during the day that I have to spare, yet I don’t get my butt in that chair and write. My discipline has been lacking and I plan to put a stop to that today.

My wife has always been behind me. I know my daughter would probably love and enjoy the stories that I have floating around in my head. The problem has been me. And I’m here to nip that problem in the bud. I am going to start to put a bigger emphasis on my writing. I am going to start to spend some of that free time working on the stories that I want to publish.

What things do you find yourself doing instead of your passion? How do you get around these issues?

I love to hear from you!

3 thoughts on “Spending Time in the Chair

  1. I think like anything else, it’s a decision. And when you decide it’s what you really want to do, you make it happen. I’m a lazy writer and if I don’t force myself to set aside the time, I won’t do it. But once I make that decision, it’s two hours minimum a night until it’s done.

Leave a Reply

