How much tech is too much?

TechnologyThis is a question that I ask myself on a pretty regular basis. As someone who likes to dabble into the world of Science Fiction, tech is normally a topic that comes up during the story. I don’t want to take away from the characters and the plot, but I want some tech to be involved.

I am also an avid lover of tech, so that makes a little harder for me to try not to get too technical during the writing of my story. I understand that not all readers want to read about the tech in my stories universe, so I try not to dive too deep, but I also know that there are people out there that like to see what ideas and uses we can think of for our technology.

I mean a few decades ago, someone could watch Star Trek: The Next Generation and not have the faintest idea that in the future that people would be wearing computers on their wrists and carrying one in their pocket. Heck, even the tablet is stronger then most computers of the age. But some author thought that up as a futuristic device. And now it is common.

I’d like to ask the frequent visitors to this site, how much tech would you like to see in a story? At what point is too much distracting towards the reading? What are your thoughts and opinions?

7 thoughts on “How much tech is too much?

  1. I like getting into the nitty gritty, as long as it’s relevant to the story. I don’t think it’s a good idea to explain the science or technology behind a gadget if it’s just cool background – it has to be essential to the plot.

  2. You can write the tech in, just don’t get caught up in too much details. It is a delicate balance between not enough information and too much (at least for me) because you do have to paint a picture for the reader, but there is some things you can let them leave to their imaginations. Reading for me is like watching a movie, if someone is describing every detail of an object in the story my mind starts trying to focus on what they are describing. Keep it general.

    1. Thanks! I’ll have to keep that in mind in the future. One of the things that I’m working on is leaving things up to the reader. I find myself putting in too much detail and then making some things boring as opposed to leaving it up to the reader to determine what tech looks like. Thanks for the advice!

Leave a Reply

