Gaming Character Roles and You

A Computer Game Collection
Image courtesy of Wikimedia Commons: Author: David Elsener

I’ve played a lot of video games in my time. And I do mean A LOT! When I was in college, it wasn’t much for me to spend most of my day gaming away with friends, especially late into the evening. You can’t have that much time playing without picking up a few things.

In any game you have three distinct mentalities. There are the tanks, the damage dealers and the support roles. A tank is someone who steps into the front lines and takes the damage for the group. They’ve got either gear or skills that allow them to take more damage. The damage dealers are the ones that are always trying to get the top damage. No matter what happens they try to maximize the amount of damage they can do to take down the enemy faster. The support roles are those players that always take a healer or booster role of some sort. They enjoy helping out the other members of the party so that they can accomplish their task, be it damage dealing or tanking, in a more effective way. Each has their own mentality and purpose to a party.

I’ve noticed over the course of time that my personality lends me to playing a support role. Whether it was World of Warcraft, Starcraft, or Battlefield 2, I always seemed to drift towards the support class for the game. I was a known healer in WOW, in PVP and in PVE. I don’t know what it is about the role, but I just enjoy supporting other people, I don’t have to be in the spotlight. I want everyone in the group to be able to do their best and through the support role we can accomplish this goal. Support roles are normally one that can make or break a party and are usually the first ones blamed whenever something goes wrong. I don’t know what it is about the other two roles, but they are normally under the assumption that they couldn’t have made a mistake.

I know not every role is covered in every game, but the majority of group games follow this type of grouping. What role do you take on? What role do you enjoy playing? If you have experience in all roles, what type of things have you noticed differently about each role?

I love hearing from you!

3 thoughts on “Gaming Character Roles and You

Leave a Reply

