Notes and What They Mean to You

It’s time to get organized! Yeah that’s right, a post about organization. Sounds like a blast right? I know I’m having fun.

Organization is one of those topics that is common sense to most people, yet it is something that most people do not accomplish. I know that I am not organized in the slightest. So how can I write a post about it, you ask?

Well, I’ve been reading a lot about business recently, struggling to bring my daily job back to profitability, and I’ve found out that most of the successful business people of the world have some sort of way to organize what they are thinking and what tasks they need to accomplish. I’ve spent some time going over different methods and have found a simple way that will work for me.

I spend the end of each day writing down what I want to do the next day. This will give me a list of jobs to accomplish first thing in the morning instead of waiting until the morning figure out what comes first. It saves time, trust me.

Second, I try not to let myself get bogged down in the day to day activities. I don’t plan out my exact schedule, but I do try to have a general idea of the people I want to see and how long it should take with each person. I don’t check my e-mail when my phone goes off like usual. I plan out a time during each hour to double check my e-mail making sure nothing of importance gets missed. The non-time sensitive e-mails I can make a note in my task list and return those e-mails when I get back into the office.

Doing these two simple steps has allowed me to streamline a lot of my time and has made me more efficient. I no longer have to guess what I am going to do or try to figure it out on an empty brain. I have a road laid out before me when I get up in the morning.

These tasks have also bled over into my writing life. I can easily lay out what ideas I want to work on throughout the day and make sure that I am getting them done before the day is out. Whatever tasks don’t get done get moved to the next day. Keeping me on the path, but not letting me stray to whatever blinking message I see. Who would have thought it would be so easy?

I’m working on making this part of my daily schedule but it takes twenty-one days to form a habit so I’ll have to make sure I stick with it for the weeks to come.

What things do you do to keep yourself on task? Do you have notes all over your office or do you try to centralize your tasks for the day? Is winging it the best method that works for you?

I love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

