Monday Movie Review: Christmas Movies

20121203-084737
Image courtesy of WANA Commons
Picture By KimbarMontague

So this post is going to be a little different then normal. I am not going to be reviewing Christmas Movies. There are way too many to talk about! However, I know when I watch a Christmas movie, there is a certain charm or feeling that the movies always present. Even the cheesy made-for-TV movies that come out.

I knew when I was growing up, December was always one of my favorite months. No it wasn’t the typical feet of snow we receive, but it was the fact that Christmas was on it’s way. Woohoo! Presents! As a kid I always had a special place in my heart for Christmas and it wasn’t just because of the presents. They had some factor in it…..ok a large factor…..but it wasn’t just because of the joy the new gifts would bring. I also enjoyed the time of year because of the togetherness it always brought within the family.

My family has always been close. I can’t remember the last time we had an argument between ourselves. We have been lucky to always get along. But in December, there was always an emotion that settled over the house that brought us closer together. I don’t know if it was the Christmas tree or the lights in the house, but there was an extra effort to get along during this month.

Every family has a set of Christmas traditions that they follow. We always put up the tree on the same day, tried to get the lights up on the house around the same time, and we watched Christmas movies. My family would sit around and watch the old claymation Christmas movies (my favorite). It seems that when one of the old classics like “Santa Claus is Coming to Town” or “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer” was on TV, action in the house would stop and we would all curl up next to the TV and watch the movie. There was just some added allure that a classic Christmas movie had over us as kids.

As we grew up the traditions shifted and new movies started to take over. We were introduced to National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation (which has become a Christmas staple at my house) and other more adult movies. These movies have made their way into our normal holiday traditions. Heck, I watched Christmas Vacation yesterday.

There have also been other movies that have come along in recent years that have made the tradition list. The Grinch with Jim Carrey and Christmas with the Cranks are two that spring to mind. They have made the normal Christmas movie list for my family since they came out. Deck the Halls is another movie that will make the list when I can get it bought.

I’m not sure exactly what the draw is for a Christmas movie in my family, but I do know that many have tried and fell short.

What movies does your family enjoy over the holidays? What memories do you have of Christmas movies? Is there any other movie that you guys try to make sure to watch every Christmas Season? Is there any movie that we should add to our list that we haven’t seen yet?

I love to hear from you!

5 thoughts on “Monday Movie Review: Christmas Movies

  1. I love the Charlie Brown Christmas movie, all of the old classics, but my family loves Ernest Saves Christmas. Bizarre, I know, but well, that’s our family. Plus I like its positive message.

  2. I got with the classics, too. Miracle on 34th street, White Christmas, wow need to go dig them out. Oh, The Santa Claus (like the first one best), and yeah, Charlie Brown. With an empty nest, we don’t watch the cartoon ones much anymore. But you’re right, there is something very fun about Christmas movies (partly because we save them up, too, I think?) and I also like to grab some Christmas collections (short stories because I’m short on time!) around the holidays, too.

Leave a Reply

