NASA Wednesday – MBSU Installation Complete

20120909-203240.jpgImage Credit: NASA

On Wednesday, September 5 Expedition 32 was conducting a 6 hour spacewalk to finish the installation of the MBSU (Main Bus Switching Unit). The walk was conducted by NASA Flight Engineer Sunita Williams and Japanese Aerospace Exploration Agency astronaut Aki Hoshide.

The original installation was delayed due to a possible misalignment and damage to threads where a bolt needed to be placed. They also installed a camera on the International Space Station robotic arm, Canadaarm 2.

The MBSU is a 236 unit that relays power from the stations solar arrays to the systems. The previous spacewalk on August 30th lasted 8 hours and 17 minutes, the third longest spacewalk in history. That spacewalk ended with those astronauts bolting the unit into place on the truss.

The spacewalk was the 165th in conjunction with space station assembly and maintenance.

It’s amazing everything they can do above the atmosphere. I get excited when NASA is busy because it shows that there is still hope to continue our exploration of the unknown.

5 thoughts on “NASA Wednesday – MBSU Installation Complete

  1. Agreed. When they ended the shuttle program my first thought was “Well, that’s it. No more space for us.” I hoped I was wrong. I’m glad to see we’re still doing stuff but what will we do when the space station is due to “retire”? I hope the Mars stuff keeps the space program alive,

    1. Yeah that was my fear as well. I figured they could gut what little budget NASA has and that would be the end of it. I’m excited to see that things are still moving in the right direction.

  2. I was visiting with my son and his wife about the space program. When I was a little girl, we used to wonder what was on the dark side of the moon. We’d look up and we didn’t know. And then, with made up stuff, we made it to the moon. Hard to believe we can’t get back, can’t get man further out there with all the technology we have now. I live in Houston and we are particularly mourning the scale down of NASA. I hope that trend changes.

Leave a Reply

