Movie Review Monday – 21 Jump Street

20120715-211635.jpg

This week we grabbed 21 Jump Street out of the Redbox. First thing, I had heard mixed reviews of this movie so I was a little unsure whether or not to grab it, but my nephew was up and we were wanting a comedy and this one popped in my head. My wife had already been out grabbing some groceries, so I had her pick it up. The movie did not disappoint.

The movie starts out laying a little backstory. You meet the main characters Schmidt (Jonah Hill) and Jenko (Channing Tatum) in their high school years. Here you find out that Schmidt is the nerd and Jenko is the cool jock. They don’t talk to each other.

After school they both enlist in the Police Academy where they meet up and can help each other out. Jenko teaches Schmidt how to pass his physical exams while Schmidt tutors Jenko on his written tests. Through their teamwork they both graduate and make it on the force.

Their first arrest goes haywire, ending them up in Jump Street where they are sent back to high school to bring down a drug ring. I won’t get into the story any more then that for fear of setting off a spoiler but the movie was funny. I enjoyed it and it had my nephew rolling at a few points.

I would also like to say that Dave Franco made a pretty good character in the story. He played his part well.

I would give this movie a definite for your Redbox list. My family throughly enjoyed the comedy and there was enough action to keep the story from getting boring. The characters are laid out fairly well and you can relate to them later in the film. Overall a fun movie, but not for everyone in the family. Keep the crowd to adults if you can.

If you have seen the film, what did you think of it?

2 thoughts on “Movie Review Monday – 21 Jump Street

Leave a Reply

