Movie Review Monday

20120603-194934.jpg

20120603-194943.jpg

Movie Review Monday!!! This is the first installment of my weekly blog of movie reviews. I have wanted to add movie reviews to the blog and my new format had an opening on Monday that allowed me to stick in movie reviews. As a parent of a nine month old baby, I am going to be leaning my movie reviews towards those from Netflix or Redbox as we don’t have much time to get out and catch the newest movies.

The first film I watched this weekend was Haywire. It is the story of a black ops soldier who was sold out on her last mission and she is tracking down those who sold her out. The soldier’s name is Mallory Kane and we first come upon her in a cafe meeting up with Aaron (Channing Tatem). The scene breaks out into a fight and Mallory hijacking a younger man and taking off in his car. The story then overlays with backstory as we find out what happened to create the getaway.

The movie has a Bourne like flavor but lacks the total understanding of the story that the Bourne series gives. There are characters that enter the story that are not explained very well and I found myself trying to figure out what was going on between action scenes instead of just watching the story unfold. The backstory makes the movie confusing in the beginning, in my opinion, because they never really explain that they are going back in time. Overall I would recommend renting this movie before purchasing, just in case it doesn’t turn out to be what you expected.

The second movie of the weekend was Contraband. This movie starred Mark Wahlberg, and as a fan of his I had high expectations. The story starts with a botched smuggling operation that has the brother-in-law of Walhberg’s character in trouble. As a retired smuggler, he tries to help his brother out of a bind but ends up making a run to pay off his brother-in-law’s debt. The movie also starts Kate Beckinsale and Giovanni Ribisi.

The movie overall was good. I liked the way it laid out and the story was easy to follow. Even though it felt like Gone in 60 Seconds on the water, I would recommend this one to anyone who is a movie collector.

Leave a Reply

