Finding Time to Write

Hey all,

I have a difficult time sitting down and writing. There are a million excuses that can arise while trying to set down and write that will pull you away from your computer. DON’T LET THEM. I have been known to get up from the computer because of some personal task that has arisen and BOOM, next thing you know, it is late into the night and I haven’t gotten back to write anything. Don’t let yourself fall into this trap. Sitting aside some time during the day and getting on a routine will allow you to focus on writing and blocking out everything else. Personally, I need to follow my own advice as I get sidetracked way too often.

Unplugging your internet is another option to keep yourself focused. The internet unlocks a plethora of distractions that can keep you from being focused on the novel at hand. If you can detach yourself from the net itself, your writing will not get interrupted as often.

I have also found that taking everything out of the room can also help you keep your focus. Now I’m not saying to empty everything out of the room and sit in a dark corner with bland walls, I’m saying that you need to take out those things that easily draw your attention from your writing. Turning off the T.V., shutting down the music, and moving to a place that inspires you can keep the novel in the limelight. Personally, I have always worked with music since I was in college and it helps keep me focused and everyone will have their own method to keep focused, however, you need to find out what works best for you and use it to your advantage.

Hope everyone can keep up the good work and stay focused on their novels! Especially me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

